Maisie Cake

I recently joined a cake forum on Facebook, its always nice to speak to or get advice from people that have a similar obsession with all things cake and I kept seeing a cake mentioned that I had never heard of. It took me a while to build up the courage to ask what it was (as a cake making you don’t want to admit you don’t know a cake) and a very nice member provided me with the recipe for a Maisie cake.

Now for all of you that have never heard of this (like me) apparently it is a cross between a Victoria sponge and Madeira cake the difference is that the crumb is denser than a Victoria sponge which makes it easier to carve but it is much moister than a Madeira.

This has been playing on my mind for a week now, I have 4 cakes to make that are all vanilla sponge but do I try this new recipe or stick with tried and tested????? I love making cakes but hate the waste of making them when they are not for a specific reason (everyone out there is saying there is always a reason for cake) so I have decided today is the day for Maisie.

I will donate it to the police cake eating team (my husband works for the police and its not just donuts they eat lol) and get their expert opinion.

So part 2 of this blog will be the Maisie cake review and pictures

Leave a Reply

